RSS

Rappan Athuk #43: The Perplexing Fountain

25 May

After a lost chapter in which the party explored a maze of caverns and agreed with a lost goblin party to help them find a way back through the minotaur maze in exchange for information on how to find the underground goblin city, we say goodbye to a beloved character and hello… to another one? (-GM)

11th day of Arodus, 4718 AR

I’ve lost track of the days down here, each one blending into the next. Battle after battle. Some of them easy, some of them not. Our most recent fight had been against a demon and a vampire. The demon had this stone that did all these strange things. I remember Valestar started babbling random things and I shouted at him, what are you? Level 5? They both teleported away before they could die but they had only teleported 20 feet away into a hidden room. We destroyed the wall in between the 2 rooms and charged in. Both monsters were weak and the party killed them easily.

Aside from the magical halberd and the magical armor, there was a polished black gem. It had made me and the rest of the party confused when we looked at it. Shia looked at it closely and told us that it was very valuable. Worth more than 350,000 gold pieces. Shia tucked it into one of his pockets and said let’s do this. But before we got on with adventuring, we decided to go back to the house to drop off the black gem now known as a Chaos Diamond. Once we arrived, I decided that I was going to take a break from adventuring to visit my mother for mother’s day. I bid the party farewell and left.

Hello future adventurer! It is me DFSRFA. I am leaving my journal here so the new member of the party (you) can continue telling the story of Rappan Athuk. Good grammar, good spelling, and good luck.

My best regards, DFSRFA

Hello. My name is DFSIFA (Death From Somewhere Irrelevantly Far Away) and I guess this is my journal now. Well, now that it’s my job to recount the events of the day, I guess I should get going.

So we started this day a little strangely. There was no killing monsters, no Arthritic Slaver dying, and we saw less of The Hero of No Name’s feet. The party voted, and we ended up going down a long hallway. A little while down, the hallway split into 3 passageways. One to the right, one to the left, and one straight ahead. We went straight for starters and found ourselves in a huge cavern. In the center was a fountain with four figures standing around it. Around the bottom of the fountain read a long line of text that seemed to loop around the entire fountain. I ran around and read out the lines as I went. They said:

There are four brothers in this world that were all born together. The first runs and never wearies. The second eats and never is full. The third drinks and is never thirsty. The fourth sings a song that is never good. His song is a royal tune, but the king’s wish must be fulfilled for the master to become the servant. One must master the elements to find the king.

“There are four brothers in this world that were all born together…”

Now that was some serious mystical sh*t. We tried putting fire, earth, electricity, and acid onto the statues but nothing happened. So we backtracked and went to the left at the split. Just around a bend was a RAINBOW BRIDGE!!! I could not believe my eyes. Every 2 feet was a new color. IT WAS SO RAINBOWY!!! There was very dangerous-looking acid below it but there were RAINBOWS which meant it was automatically not trying to kill you. That was when I noticed that one section of the bridge was gold. I started walking forward towards the gold. I heard someone in the background reading these words written on the wall. “The greedy shall not pass.”

I paid them no heed because there was gold at stake. Right before I stepped onto the gold section Valestar jumped in front of me and stopped me. He told me that the gold was an illusion and I would fall into the acid if I stepped onto that area. I realized this, too, so I jumped over the fake section and saw a huge room ahead of me. The party jumped/flew across the bridge and went into the room with me.

On each wall and on the floor and ceiling there were colored tiles. In the middle of each section painted was a king. The water king had a trident and the other kings had items that symbolized their element too. We tried touching each of the kings at once but nothing happened. We knew that there was something in this room that had to do with the fountain, but we could not find out what. We also knew that the four kings in the room were the four brothers the riddle on the fountain talked about.

Coming out of this room was a hallway. It was very steep down. The roof of the hallway was made of bricks but it looked so unstable that we did not want to go down it. Also, written on the floor was this message. “The rain washes away the filth of man, ants trampled underfoot of the angry god. The wise pause before the foot of the god to pay their respects.” That was when we noticed that the sides of the tunnel were very smooth. Almost like water had run through here recently.

We all simultaneously looked up. We saw a small amount of water dripping through the bricks. We now realized that the bricks were holding up a lake or a body of water. We hear “Fire in the hole” yelled from behind us and we see Blungybooce throwing a Fuse Grenade up at the ceiling. Thank the gods that the tunnel was downhill. We raced back to the top of the tunnel just before a torrent of water came cascading down from the ceiling, completely filling the tunnel with a rush of water.

After that, we were able to go down it. We came across a water wheel but there was nothing special about it, so we kept going. There was a huge open pit trap that had filled with water. We had Shia swim down there, but there was nothing. We kept going until we found a room where the floor was covered in blue sand. We tried to figure out why the sand was blue, but we gave up after a few tries. Behind a secret door, a passageway curved up. At the end was a magical lever.

As we looked around, The Hero of No Name told us that just through the wall where the lever was placed was the room with the fountain. This was interesting, but I really need a bathroom break so that’s it for now.

-Death from Somewhere Irrelevantly Far Away (Paul)

=================================

Arthritic Slaver, half-orc fighter 9
BlungyBooce, vanaran pistolero gunslinger 10
Death from Somewhere Irrelevantly Far Away, tiefling slayer 9
The Hero of No Name, aasimar summoner 11
Nioveskirian, dwarven stonelord paladin 10
Shia Labeouf, merfolk bard 10
Valestar Ekhart, aasimar paladin 11

Previous post in this campaign

Next post in this campaign

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Rappan Athuk #43: The Perplexing Fountain

Leave a Reply

 
