RSS

Special Thanksgiving RPG Event!

13 Nov

thanksgiving-superhero-113761Dear parents and guardians,

In addition to teaching the Tabletop RPG afterschool program at King, I also run adventures separately from the school, on the weekends. In contrast to the afterschool program where I must attend to the needs of a large classroom and mentor young “game masters” (GMs), I personally GM these adventures and can raise the quality and immersion of the game!

I have found that the weekend RPGs expose students to a more exciting, even transcendent experience and prompts them to use more fully the skills that quality tabletop RPGs can awaken: roleplaying, storytelling, strategy, creative problem-solving, and teamwork. It is also a chance to play with their new friends outside of school in their favorite game!

The adventure will run back-to-back on two days – Friday, Nov. 27, 4-9pm and Saturday, Nov. 28, 10am-3pm. We have a break in the middle for lunch/dinner. Each session has a $30 fee, and I ask that a parent host each session. People are asked to donate to the host to help cover the cost of food.

GMing is the most challenging and rewarding aspect of playing RPGs, and with this weekend RPG I hope to “teach by showing” in a manner that can raise his or her own quality of GMing in the afterschool program. This will benefit the afterschool class as a whole—while we have a lot of fun in the process!

Please respond soon, as spots will fill fast. (I can only have up to six people.) I will also give priority to kids who have not done one of my weekend RPGs before. I will finalize the group on Sunday, Nov. 22. Also, if there is no room for a child in one the Thanksgiving RPG, I will put him or her on the waiting list for adventures I plan to GM during winter break, and for longer campaigns I plan on starting next spring and summer.

Let me know if you have any questions!

–           Ronald Cruz, guildgrandmaster@gmail.com

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 13, 2015 in Announcements

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Special Thanksgiving RPG Event!

  1. Nate

    November 13, 2015 at 9:18 pm

    What adventure will it be?

     
    • ronaldsf

      November 13, 2015 at 9:23 pm

      Something that can finish in two sessions and is fairly low level. I’m thinking Crypt of the Everflame.

       

Leave a Reply

 
