RSS

Rappan Athuk #1: Preparations

17 Oct

3rd day of Lamashan, 4715 AR

gnome

I heard a knock on my door. When I opened the door, to my surprise, it was a small gnome holding a parcel about the size of his head…

It all started many moons ago. I was at my home, reading a book my friend Cevroth had given me for my birthday. I heard a knock on my door. I got up and walked over to see who it was. When I opened the door, to my surprise, it was a small gnome holding a parcel about the size of his head.

“Why hello there!” I greeted the little gnome. “Are ya Valestar Ekhart?” The little gnome squinted up at me and grinned with not-quite-white teeth.

“Why, yes that is me.” I responded.

“Well I’ve been told ta give ya this here little parcel.” At this, he handed it to me.

“Thank you, good gnome.” I said. But he was already walking off.

I went inside and sat down to open it up. It was bound in parchment, with a burlap string that went around. I opened it up, and inside was a letter and a small box. I read the letter first. It was a letter from my cousin Gaige, who lived in a small town near the legendary dungeon know as Rappan Athuk. I had a feeling I knew what this would be about, since it was all he talked about, that damned place.

Dear Valestar,

I hope this letter finds you in good health. I need to ask something of you. I have heard that you have become a holy paladin, and I need a strong holy warrior for what is coming. I am going to try to defeat Rappan Athuk. I have found some friends and adventurers who are also interested, and your strength and prowess are very much needed. 

Please consider this,
Your Cousin, Gaige

letter2

“I am going to try to defeat Rappan Athuk. I have found some friends and adventurers who are also interested, and your strength and prowess are very much needed…”

I didn’t know what to make of it. That night I thought it over, and realized that I could bring great honor to my order, my deity, and myself by exploring the awful place. So the next day, I made travel preparations. I packed my sword and shield and all my holy items, and set off. It was not an easy journey, and it took many days. But finally I reached Pizza Town and reunited with my cousin. He introduced me to his close friend Vv, and the two other ‘adventurers’, a cat-person named John, who practiced an interesting form of spellcraft mixed with swordplay, a fish-like man named Drun Kensayler, who is quite an alcoholic but surprisingly good with firearms. Gaige told me the story of him looking for a job and finding Vv looking for employees, and them becoming close friends, and after that the story of John and Drun.

John was staying at the town inn, and so one night, while having dinner in the tavern, he saw an odd looking blue person walk in. He had a pistol in one hand and a bottle of spirits in the other and was clearly intoxicated (he used different language, but I will try to refrain from using profanity). He staggered over to the bar and ordered another drink. As he was waiting, he saw John and started laughing at him.

“Ha! Looky over there! *Burp* It’s a walkin’ cat!” He belched out.

“Excuse me, I find that quite offensive! Please do yourself a favor and shut your drunk mouth.” John retorted angrily, standing up (I am dictating this for Gaige).

“Hey, hey, hey, everyone calm down. Im sure he didn’t mean to offend you there bud.” Gaige had been watching the whole thing and walked over to calm them down.

“Yea, he better not have.” John sat back down and finished his dinner.

“Hey, yooooo! Yooo got an adventure fer me? I can do it blindfolded! *Burp*” The drunk Drun slurred out at Gaige.

“Actually, i’m looking for adventure too.” John called over.

“Well you’re both in luck, because i’m actually looking to go defeat Rappan Athuk.” Gaige smiled and looked at them. “You in?”

-Valestar (Marco)

Next post in this campaign

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 17, 2015 in Campaign, Pathfinder Chronicles, Rappan Athuk

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Rappan Athuk #1: Preparations

Leave a Reply

 
