RSS

Iron Gods (The Divinity Drive) #10: The Tournament of Fate

10 Oct

gladiator-stadium

Since we last heard from our heroes, who were chasing Deacon Hope, Unity’s religious evangelist, uncovering the bloody horrors hidden behind the antiseptic walls of the android village aboard Divinity. Their cleric of Brigh, Rick Steel, continues their tale…

10th day of Erastus, 4716 AR

kyton_interlocutor_by_liarath-d7p7pxx

These kytons were different. Their bodies ended at the arms and legs and were infused into a giant metal and flesh machine which they rode within.

With brain goop still splattered across our armor, we pushed into the next room. There, we saw kytons as before, but these were different. Their bodies ended at the arms and legs and were infused into a giant metal and flesh machine which they rode within. I searched the room and saw, in the back, Deacon Hope (or rather, eight of him!). We set to work dismantling these horrors in order to push forward to the Deacon. However, after easily knocking the things down, we discovered that they had quite a problem with staying down (I get knocked down, but I get up again, ain’t never gonna keep me down). Ashtael decided to teach them this very important lesson. By that, I mean he pummeled the thing with his sword until it could never be mistaken for anything that could have been alive. I began to harbor a suspicion that he was enjoying dismembering the thing and was happy when it proved to be a quick learner. I summoned a Roc to attack the remaining freak. It grappled the disgusting creature and crushed its ribs while pecking out sizable portions of its brain with that razor-sharp beak. We then focused our attentions upon the Deacon. I began to try and convince him to just take my hand and he would feel much better. However he knew my tricks and I found it quite hard to touch him when all eight were dodging away from my fingers.

It was then that arrows began to fly through his mists and smokes, even hitting him with pure luck of the storm. Roger Maxson was previously unnoticed and now made the Deacon pay dearly for his lack of attention. Pretty soon, there was just one arrow pierced man left. I then proceeded to enlighten him. He agreed with we said after that point, and he had a smile upon his face even as Ashtael cleaved through his sternum. I sighed sadly, for the waste of a mind so good at persuading others deserved a place within the Church, and I knew that with him as a public speaker we would have reigned as the most prestigious of religions. What a shame. However, I couldn’t help but give half a smile, as the happiness faded from his eyes and the delirium vanished for just enough time before his death for him to see what had happened to him. I believe the view was not a very happy one for him, for as we left I heard one last blood gargled scream originate from what remained. Oh well ¯\_(ツ)_/¯.

We returned to town, Ashtael and I preparing for interviews with the media. (They had entered Starfall’s tournament for the prestigious title of Champions of Numeria. –GM) We discussed how much better we were than our opposition, showing how that with gifts from gods no man could lose, and were no normal man at that. I expected this fight to be more of a publicity stunt than an actual challenge. I immediately made a team name and slogan, Silver Skulls and “Stay Silver” respectively. I had my apprentices craft us thousands of small silver skulls, nearly worthless but treasured by the common people. The day before the fight I prepared, buffing Ashtael and myself, praying fervently to Brigh, and placing a 50k bet on our team (Which I haven’t received my reward on yet >:| )

Ashtael sensed tremors in the ground and attacked where he thought the ninja was, and he was rewarded with a spurt of blood flying out of the air.

Ashtael sensed tremors in the ground and attacked where he thought the ninja was, and he was rewarded with a spurt of blood flying out of the air.

We entered the arena, greeted on all sides by adoring fans. Inside of my Crab, painted silver for the event, I was ready for the fight. I began casting and sealed myself inside. The enemy ninja went invisible and began to advance towards us. Ashtael sensed tremors in the ground and attacked where he thought the ninja was, and he was rewarded with a spurt of blood flying out of the air. The ninja tried to harm him but I had shielded him with divine power, and nothing can withstand the power of the gods. After one last all-or-nothing attempt to kill me, the ninja fell under the relentless blows of Ashtael.

His partner, the kineticist, sent fire blast after fire blast at us, but nothing could harm the champions of Brigh. I summoned three Brachiosaurus’ and sent them trampling towards him. He was run over twice, whipped with bone-breaking force three times, and flat out crushed once. Even a man built to withstand punishment could not take this kind of force, and he soon also went down, body crushed and ruined. We had won.

Ez Pz get gud scrubs u got slept on.
Stay Silver.
– Rick Steel (Zack B.)

==============================

XP so far:

Ashtael Valjakra – 1,190,625
M0n5t3r – 1,089,958
Rick Steel – 1,211,125
Roger Maxson – 893,375
Viole – 794,791

Last post in this campaign

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 10, 2015 in Campaign, Iron Gods 2

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Iron Gods (The Divinity Drive) #10: The Tournament of Fate

Leave a Reply

 
