RSS

Iron Gods (The Divinity Drive) #1: Ascent into Silver Mount

20 Jun

starfall

14th day of Sarenith, 4716 Absalom Reckoning

All right, where do I begin? Ah yes, STARFALL, a strange place, full of new technology and rebelliousness, a revolution is brewing. Just six months ago, a party of adventurers that included a glowing man with an implanted cybernetic chainsaw and a karate-kicking frog, meddled its way into city politics. They helped oust the Technic League’s leader who had been even more violent than usual in defending technology. Kevoth-Kul, the Black Sovereign, who is popular with the people, declared a “new era.”

In other words: just another day in Starfall.

And I was in my favorite bar the preparing to defend my title. Bets were being placed, men and women were cheering. I was getting ready for my 72nd fight of the year, then I saw my friend M0n5t3r walk into the bar. I wanted to say hello, but I decided to finish the fight first.

whiskey

I promptly kicked my opponent through the wall, grabbed a bottle of whiskey that one of the cheering people was holding, and started drinking as I made my way over to my friend.

The bell rang and I promptly kicked my opponent through the wall, hopped off the stage, grabbed a bottle of whiskey that one of the cheering people was holding, and popped the cork off and started drinking as I made my way over to my friend. He was interrogating the bartender about something I didn’t want to be a part of. It also seemed that he had a new friend, battle ready, black hair, bright blue eyes, very bright blue, and he had a very distinct way of turning his head, one person, to the next, to the next, as if he was trying to waste as little time as possible.  This was when I got a very bad feeling about this young lad.  I value morality more than anything else in a person, and I could tell then that this gomeril had less than an orc on Halloween.

“M0n5t3r!” I said. “Don’t you want to introduce me these playmates of yours?”

M0n5t3r did what he would call a smile.

“You know I’m not one for introductions Romulus. Introduce yourselves. I’ll be back in a minute.”

So we did just that. The one who had caught my attention was Invitavit Mentibus, new to Starfall. M0n5t3r’s other friends were leaders of the Temple of Brigh, Roger Maxson and Rick Steel. I can’t be bothered to say every detail of his friends but they looked tough and impressive enough, so when M0n5t3r got back we followed his lead to a bit of fun named The Red Reaver. There is where the leader of the Mockery (the name for the local resistance to the Black Sovereign and the Technic League) told us that suspicious shipments were coming out of there possibly making the Black Sovereign addicted to drugs provided by the Technic League.

As we made our way through the potheads and maniacs, we saw a young lass with cybernetic implants, Saoria, at the counter.

golem, clockwork

But the golem was what I didn’t see… he grabbed me, his gears digging into my flesh and bones, ripping apart my back…

“What is your pleasure?” she said in a bored monotone as we approached her.

“We’re not here to buy,” said M0n5t3r. “I’m here about the illegal shipments to the Black Sovereign.” The ruler of Starfall? All this is new to me, I only came because I thought it could be fun.

Anyway, we ended up in the back room, standing in front of of an impressive looking door at the end of the hall.  When we opened it, I took in a cybernetics table and an alchemist with a backpack of syringes. Run up, pull his backpack over his face, 5 punches in the stomach should be enough planning for now.  But the golem was what I didn’t see. He grabbed me, his gears digging into my flesh and bones, ripping apart my back. I escaped. I ran. I was grappled again. I ran. Grappled again!  JESUS MARIAN JOSSIF FIND YOUR FUCKIN CHILL GOLEM!

Ok I’m out, for real this time, I looked around to find the alchemist and saw an oozing lump of flesh on the ground, the rest of the party standing over it. So we searched and found something about plans for a “doomsday device” that would affect a 100-mile radius, and that it was being built in Silver Mount — the crashed spaceship near Starfall.

So off we went, to Silver Mount. When we finally got there, we found a giant cybernetic spider with huge machine guns. And of course a battle inside, the participants of which mostly included me and the spider. I don’t want to get too detailed but let’s just say that it involved me doing some seriously badass kicks and punches, M0n5t3r totally failing with his plasma gun, and a few fire walls that were cast by some of M0n5t3r’s friends.

We found a giant cybernetic spider with huge machine guns... I don’t want to get too detailed but let's just say the battle involved me doing some seriously badass kicks and punches.

We found a giant cybernetic spider with huge machine guns… I don’t want to get too detailed but let’s just say the battle involved me doing some seriously badass kicks and punches.

Here’s that last few seconds *clears throat*:  The spider flew through the wind wall at speeds that weren’t yet known to golarion, it smashed into me and landed perching sideways on the wall!  Taking the opportunity I punch it in the side.  Just then, Roger Maxson decided to get cocky and said, “Thank god I’m actually safe now,” which were the last words he ever spoke because at that moment a bullet from the spider landed right between his eyes and sent his brains on a first class trip to everywhere but his head.

By Romulus (Athos-Argue-Hassanein, making himself look good since 2013)

===============================
XP so far:

Invitavit Mentibus – 604,140
M0n5t3r – 613,640
Rick Steel – 585,140
Roger Maxson – 518,640
Romulus – 547,140

Next post in this campaign

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 20, 2015 in Campaign, Iron Gods 2

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Iron Gods (The Divinity Drive) #1: Ascent into Silver Mount

  1. Meenuman (or nick)

    June 20, 2015 at 10:35 pm

    Most xp! Yeetz!

     

Leave a Reply

 
